Hidden Gem + My Favorite Place: Fort Stark State Historic Site

Standard

Today I wanted to share about one of my all time favorite places to hang out & relax on the seacoast. Fort Stark is located in Newcastle, NH just a few minutes outside of Portsmouth and only about a minute drive from my work so I’ve been spending a lot of time there this summer. It is free to go to and there is no signage so only locals really know of it and you can only find our through word of mouth. It offers a lot of coastline, some located on a small beach and some just along big rocks. There is also a rocky pier that juts out so beachgoers & fishermen alike tend to visit. It also has a large grassy area and picnic tables to picnic on and hang out at. The fort itself is crumbling a bit but is still a cool piece of architecture and history. Fort Stark has a visitors center but it is only open on Saturdays from 12-4 so I’ve never been while it’s open. I can talk a lot about how gorgeous and relaxing it is but pictures tell the tale better than I could. On a typical day, I bring some food, coffee, a book or two, and some music and just sit and enjoy the sea air and the views.

IMG_1162 IMG_1163 IMG_1170 IMG_1812 IMG_1794 IMG_1797 IMG_1800 IMG_1805 IMG_1807 IMG_1809 IMG_1784 IMG_1656 IMG_1658 IMG_1664 IMG_1665 IMG_1706 IMG_1710  

Oh and my lunch in the picture above is from The Kitchen (http://www.thekitchennh.com/) in Portsmouth and they have the most amazing sandwiches and salads and also these awesome fried mashed potato balls called spudsters that you can order with any seasoning and any dipping sauce and they are so tasty. I love everything I’ve had from there thus far which includes the Tuscan (in above picture), haddock po boy, roast beef, and turkey club. They also feature rotating salads, and I’ve had the kale salad, brussel sprouts slaw, & sweet potato salad. All totally delicious.

Check out more on Fort Stark at http://www.nhstateparks.org/explore/state-parks/fort-stark-state-historic-site.aspx if you’re interested (and you should be!). It’s pretty awesome.

Leave a comment