Where To Eat: Book & Bar – Portsmouth, NH

Standard

IMG_1738.JPG

This week I finally ate at a restaurant that I’ve been dying to try because it mixes some of my favorite things: food & books & coffee & alcohol. What could be better? So when Bill asked me to come up with a suggestion for where to have dinner a few nights ago, I was very proud of myself for coming up with Book & Bar, a place we have talked about going. They have a fairly basic menu of sandwiches, salads, & a few other small plate items.

I had a tuna melt & Bill had the cured tomato club. I also had the Downeast cider to drink which I loved. It was crisp, refreshing, & gave just a hint of fall. Bill had a dark beer though I can’t remember which one. We both enjoyed the sandwiches which came with fairly large side salads.

IMG_1735.JPG

But by far my favorite thing about Book & Bar is that you are eating your meal in the middle of a real bookstore. They sell both new & used books and they will also buy books from people to resell. And let me tell you, the books were super cheap. I bought The Brothers K by David James Duncan which is a book I once was assigned to read for AP English and loved. I’d since loaned it out to someone and didn’t get it back so when I found it at Book & Bar for only $6, I was psyched. Bill also purchased a book, one relating to Eastern philosophy, something he loves.

IMG_1724.JPG

I am an avid reader & bookstore lover so the experience of being able to browse books & enjoy a good meal all in one was an awesome experience for me. I unfortunately did not try the coffee on this trip so I’ll have to go again & report back when I do.

IMG_1725.JPG

A couple other points of interest: they serve beer & wine but no liquor just FYI if you’re a cocktail fan like myself. They do have a cute little outdoor seating area. It is a casual atmosphere, you order at the counter & then sit, there are couches & comfy chairs to sit at as well as tables. They did have a rotating list of daily specials which looked pretty good and the beers on draft change regularly too. Next time I go, I for sure want to try the coffee and I would also love to try the cheese plate (I may have a slight cheese obsession).

Check it out here!

Until next time,
Kelsey

Leave a comment